The Irish Institute of Radiography and Radiation Therapy will again be teaming up with  MEDRAY Imaging Systems to present the Medray Awards 2017. All Radiographers / Radiation Therapists deal with many difficult and challenging tasks while in practice. This in itself deserves an award, however there are occasions where staff go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure that their patients and clients receive the utmost of special care and attention.

Should you know a department or someone who has made a contribution, which you think deserves recognition, nominate them for an award. The contribution can be an outstanding one or a simple gesture which you feel made a big difference to you, the patient or client.

The awards are presented each year at the annual IIRRT conference in October, following a nomination process which is open from January to March. Nominations can be made by members of the public, Radiographers / Radiation Therapists or other clinical staff.


Nominations for the awards can be made by members of the public as well as by healthcare professionals online via surveymonkey.

Nominate your Radiographer/Radiation Therapist of the Year 2017 by clicking here.

Nominate your Radiography/Radiation Therapy Department of the Year by clicking here.

Short listing process

All nominations received by March 31st will be reviewed by a panel of judges, including the IIRRT President, CPD officer, Medray staff member and an IIRRT council member.

Department Award: Each nomination will be reviewed and three departments will be shortlisted in each category. An online voting system will be opened from 1st until 14th September whereby the public will be allowed to vote for their favourite department. A site visit will also be carried out prior to this period to assess each nominated Department. The winner will be decided by combining the results of the public vote (30%) and site visit (70%).

Radiographer/Radiation Therapist Award: Each short-listed Radiographer/ Radiation Therapist will be contacted and asked to provide the Panel of Judges with a copy of their up to date CPD portfolio for the previous 12 months. Portfolios will then be reviewed and scored together with the nomination received according to a predefined scoring scheme. The nominee with the highest score will be judged to be the winner of the award. Shortlisted candidates will be contacted by the IIRRT to request their attendance at the annual IIRRT conference.


Terms and conditions

The decision of the IIRRT is final in all respects and not subject to appeal. All winners agree to provide a submission within 12 months under title “what winning award meant to you” By accepting to be nominated the department accepts the above terms and conditions


2016 Winners

Radiographer of the Year: Gerald Orpen, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital












Radiation Therapist of the Year: Niamh Carroll, St Lukes, Rathgar














Radiography Department of the Year: Portiuncla Hospital, Ballinasloe, Co. Galway












Radiation Therapy Department of the Year: St Lukes Rathgar


2015 Winners

Radiographer of the Year: Roisin Fowley, Sligo

Radiation Therapist of the Year: Caroline Meade

Caroline Meade

Radiography Department of the Year: Mater Misericordiae University Hospital (accepted by Martina Glynn)


Radiation Therapy Department of the Year: Mid West Oncology Centre Limerick (accepted by Patricia Hough)

MidWest Oncology

2014 Winners:

Radiographer of the Year: Lee O’Hora, Mater University Hospital

Lee DI 2014

Radiation Therapist of the Year: Felicity McMorris, SLRON @ St James

Felicity RT 2014

Radiography Department of the Year: Wexford General

DI Dept 2014 Wexford

Radiation Therapy Department of the Year: St Lukes, Rathgar

RT Dept 2014 St Lukes

2013 Winners:

Radiographer of the Year: Adrian O’Rourke, Mater University Hospital

Radiation Therapist of the Year: Dean Harper, SLRON @ St James

Radiography Department of the Year: Cavan General Hospital

Radiation Therapy Department of the Year: SLRON @ St James

For a full set of pictures of the winners click HERE

2012 Winners:

We are delighted to announce the inaugural winners of the awards are

Radiographer / Radiation Therapist of the Year: Theresa O’Donovan, Cork University Hospital

Department of the Year: Radiation Oncology Department, C.U.H

Photo: (from left to right): Mr. Shane Foley, IIRRT President, Ms. Theresa O Donovan, Radiation Therapist in C.U.H, Ms. Claire Harman, Deputy RTSM C.U.H., Mr. Aidan O’Reilly, Medray Managing Director


Shane Foley, IIRRT President said: Radiographers and Radiation Therapists seldom get the credit they deserve in providing high quality services to patients across Ireland. We hope these awards will go a small way towards recognising the extraordinary services being delivered in X-ray and Radiation Therapy departments. The IIRRT were delighted to receive so many high calibre nominations and would like to congratulate both the winners and finalists.